Australian SAS Art
SAS Beret by Ian Coate Sandy Beret
The SAS ‘Out of the Shadows’ exhibition at the Western Australian Museum was a great success, with an estimated 24 thousand people touring the collection. Public feedback was extremely positive with many commenting that the exhibition was tastefully and respectfully arranged.  Credit for this goes directly to the staff and volunteers at the SAS Historical Foundation and the WA Museum.
SASR Out of the Shadows
The ‘SASR – Out of the Shadows’ exhibition gave a ‘never-before-seen’ glimpse into the secret world of one of the world’s elite special force units.  2014 marked the Golden Jubilee of Australian’s SAS Regiment and for the very first time the SAS showcased its artworks and historical artefacts to the general public.
This exhibition revealed the SAS’s inception in the jungles of Borneo and Vietnam, where they received the reputation as “Phantoms of the Jungle”; to the development of their highly skilled counter-terrorism capability; to the peacekeeping years in war-torn Rwanda, Somalia and Timor; to the present day ‘war on terror’ in Afghanistan.
Through the eyes of over 30 artists’, the exhibition showed what it takes to be a soldier of the Australian SAS that lives by the courageous motto, “Who Dare Wins”.
SAS Art

For those who were unable to attend the ‘Out of the Shadows’ exhibition, below is a quick virtual tour of what you missed. 

SAS Out of the Shadows
SAS Out of the Shadows
SAS Out of the Shadows
SAS Out of the Shadows
SAS Out of the Shadows
For further information go to the WA Museum link at: http://museum.wa.gov.au/museums/perth/sasr-out-shadows
Art of the Australian SAS
'The Art of the Australian SAS' can be purchased on the SAS Historical Foundation website: www.australiansas.com
The Australian SAS

Thank you to the Artists that contributed to the SAS Exhibition

On behalf of the SAS Historical Foundation and the Regiment, I would like to thank all the contributing artists to the 'Out of the Shadows' exhibition – your wonderful works have been enjoyed by many and will remain prized pieces in the SAS Art Collection for generations into the future. 

Please take the time to visit their websites and leave behind a few encouraging words.

Dean Alston

Noel Barnes: www.noelbarnes.net

Conway Bown: www.ipas.com.au

Don Braben: www.donbraben.com

Sue Bryden

Ian Coate: www.iancoate.com

Bob Dikkenberg "Dikko"

Andy Dolphin: members.westnet.com.au/andydolphin

Paul R. Farley: www.renwickfineart.com

Owen Garde OAM (1919-2008)

Lee Harnden: www.leeharnden.com.au

Drew Harrison: www.drewharrison-art.com

Robert Hitchcock: www.sculptureroberthitchcock.com

Jeff Isaacs

Jonas

Dennis Kickett (Noongali) www.yongaboodjah.com.au

David Manning: www.militaryart.com.au

David Marshall: www.davidmarshallaviationart.com

Ron & Jennifer Marshall: www.lighthorseart.com.au

Amber Martin: www.diggerart.com

Robert Milton: www.miltonmilitaryart.com.au

Larry Mitchell

Frank Pash (1920-1991)

Gillian Peebles

Ray Reeves: www.rayreeves.com

Sally Robinson: www.sallyrobinson.com

Barry Spicer: www.barryspicer.com/

Stan / 353 Art: test353.e-ako.net/

Travis

Ian Young: www.ianyoung.net.au

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Painting in Progress Painting a Military Artwork
Behind the scenes look at the process.

This page takes a look behind the curtain in the process of producing a military artwork from conception to the finished artwork. PRESS HERE

 
Australian Military Art